Will ‘How I Met Your Mother’ Spin Off Be Successful?

20 Nov

Recently CBS has greenlit the pilot for the spin-off to one of their popular comedies, ‘How I Met Your Mother’. The new show will be called ‘How I Met Your Dad’. Just based off that title, it seems like the show won’t be swaying too much away from the formula of the original and seems like a way to keep the show alive once the last season finishes up in May.

The question, now that the spin off has been made official, is will it be anywhere near as successful as the original? It could very well be as there are some spin-offs that are successful. Take ‘Frasier’ as an example, since it was a spin-off of ‘Cheers’ and was very success in its 11 season run. But then their are times when spin-offs are not successful. I want to bring up one example in particular that ‘How I Met Your Dad’ will probably want nothing in common with.

When the CLASSIC TV show ‘Friends’ ended its ten season run in May of 2004, NBC was quick to produce and air a spin-off that premiered in September of the same year. The show was called ‘Joey’ and brought back the popular character of Joey Tribbiani from ‘Friends’ to star in it. ‘Joey’ started out strong as the first episode brought in 18.55 million viewers but would have a steep drop throughout the first season with the season low being 7.46 million viewers. The show would only last two seasons but the last eight episodes of season two were not aired. The last episode that aired brought in 4.09 million viewers. So clearly NBC had enough after that.

I guess people didn’t like seeing one friend without the rest of them. Personally I was a fan of ‘Joey’. I got both seasons on DVD and everything. It wasn’t as good as ‘Friends’ but what show is? (The answer is no show. Check out why right here) But I can bet CBS is hoping that ‘How I Met Your Dad’ takes the ‘Frasier’ path and not the ‘Joey’ path.

Comment below and tell what you expect from the ‘How I Met Your Mother’ spin-off. If there are any other ‘Joey’ fans out there, you all should speak up too.

Leave a comment